Federal University of Technology, Owerri


In 1980, Alhaji Aliyu Shehu Shagari, the President of Nigeria’s Second Republic (1979–1983), headed one of the policy thrusts in Nigeria in the creation of new universities of technology with an objective in line with the national policy on education. The policy had emphasis on technical and scientific training. The policy aims to develop a scientific and technological attitude, at every stage of the education system, in preparation for the country’s technological advancement.

In line with this policy, the Federal University of Technology, Owerri was established in November, 1980. Federal University of Technology, Owerri started its full academic activities in 1981-1982 academic sessions with a total of 225 students. Being the first school of Natural and Applied Sciences, Federal University of Technology, Owerri emphasized more on helping students acquire practical experiences and technological skills needed for human development. Federal University of Technology, Owerri developed into a center of learning with comprehensive disciplines in Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, Management Technology, Engineering and Engineering Technology, Natural and Applied Sciences and Health Technology. As one of the foremost universities of technology in Owerri, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Federal University of Technology, Owerri aims to become the center of excellence in Science and Technology.

The Federal University of Technology, Owerri Five Faculties

  • School of Science
  • School of Earth and Mineral Sciences
  • School of Environmental Technology
  • School of Engineering and Engineering Technology
  • School of Agricultural and Agricultural Technology

The Federal University of Technology, Owerri Five Academic Departments

  • Agric Research
  • Energy & Power Systems
  • Entrepreneural Studies
  • Erosion Studies
  • Industrial Studies
  • Computer
  • ICT

Federal University of Technology, Owerri Administrative Heads

  • Director: Prof. C. E. Akujor
  • Deputy Director: Dr. I. M. Mejeha
  • CSA: Mr. Obinna Osuji
  • SSAP: C. G. Onyegbuchule
  • SSAP: R. C. Nlemorisa

Federal University of Technology, Owerri Teaching Staff

  • Prof. C. E. Akujor
  • Dr. I. M. Mejeha
  • Mr. Osuji Obinna
  • Onyegbuchule C. G.
  • Nlemorisa Remigius
  • Esomonu Nkechi
  • Anunkua Roseline
  • Opara Chika
  • Alemoh Peace
  • Okeke Kelechi
  • Achola Charity U.
  • Olekanma Nwachukwu
  • Opara Chizoma
  • Igbo Ben
  • Cornelius Mboo
  • Nnodim Bethel


The Federal University of Technology, Owerri is located on Ihiagwa-Owerri, Imo State, Federal Republic of Nigeria. Owerri is the capital of Imo State in Nigeria. The capital consists of three local government areas that include the Owerri Municipal, Owerri North and Owerri West. The Owerri Government is an executive chairman-council type run by a local government council Owerri’s dominant political party is The People’s Democratic Party. In 2006 Owerri recorded a total population of 401,873. Owerri’s timezone is WAT (UTC+1.) Owerri holds an area of approximately 40 square miles or 100 square kilometers, and is bordered by the Nworie River to the south and the Otamiri River to the east.

Aside from Federal University of Technology, Owerri, other notable educational facilities in Owerri include Imo State University, African Institute of Science and Technology (AIST CCE Owerri), Army Day Secondary School Obinze Owerri, Federal College of Land Resources Oforola, Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri Girls Secondary School, Development Secondary School Owerri, Community Secondary School Oforola Owerri, Seat of Wisdom Seminary Owerri, Federal Government Girls College Owerri, Government Secondary School Owerri, Emmanuel College Owerri, Holy Ghost College Owerri, Federal Politechnic Nekede Owerri, Government Technical college Owerri, etc.